Chicago Lakefront Sculpture – Nautilus

Besides the wonderful sunrises, wildlife and skyline, Chicago has also dotted the lakefront with various forms of art. One of my favorites is Nautilus by Suzanne Horwitz. I have zero art education. As with music I just know what I like.

The sun really brings it to life

Here is Nautilus. I think it is magnificent. I see it every day. There is a feeling of strength about it that I love. It looks to me like it rose up out of the ground by its own power. It also looks like one of nature’ s perfect forms, like a cloud or a flower. It’s surface appears to be brushed aluminum. Lastly, unlike every other piece of sculpture on the lakefront, it doesn’t look manufactured, it strikes me as organic like it just burst through the ground right there.

Here is Nautilus from a distance.

Yesterday while riding by, I encountered a woman who seemed to be polishing it. I stopped and actually met Suzanne Horwitz, the artist, who was there putting on a coat of polish before Chicago’s winter struck with its snow, ice and rock salt.

She said she enjoyed coming down to the lakefront and hearing reactions to Nautilus. She named it Nautilus because there is a feeling of the sea about it.

The artist polishing Nautilus

Her bio says, “Horwitz’s sculpture won recognition at the Montclair Art Museum, Montclair, New Jersey. Her work is represented in the corporate collections of The Options Clearing Corporation in Chicago and Goldman Sachs in New York. She received her Bachelor of Fine Art from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and a Bachelor of Science from the University of Michigan.”

You can see more of her wonderful work at her website.

Enjoy!

Tony

One thought on “Chicago Lakefront Sculpture – Nautilus

  1. Hi Tony,

    I don’t know where to begin. Your blog about my work was eloquent. I am flattered by your thoughts about Nautilus. It makes all the hard work worthwhile when an artist gets a thoughtful reaction to the work. Thank you!

    I would like to post your blog on my social media. Would that be OK with you?
    It was a pleasure to chat with you too.

    Happy Holidays!
    My best regards,
    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

