Late December Afternoon

After sharing our splendid December day with you last week, it seems only fitting to pass on this one, too. Today was not a splendid December day at all. The temperature ranged slightly above average at low 40s F, but rain fell intermittently and wind gusts ranged to 35 mph peppering your face and body if you were out in it. Not a fun day.

Image

The rains and wind kept me off my bike till late afternoon when it slowed to a trickle. I rode along the lakefront for a while as the light evaporated. I was on the way home when I caught this view of Burnham Harbor and Navy Pier in the background. I was struck by the fading light and the character of the electronic illumination which had been turned on. The lack of daylight rendered a soft focus to the photo which really fascinated me. It reminded me of something Impressionistic, especially the way the lights seemed to have been dabbed on by a paint brush, not really defined at all.

If you look close you can see the sidewalk is still shiny from rain.

Tony

Leave a Reply

