I wrote up this cycling item for my good health blog. Snow changes conditions for the ride.

One Regular Guy Writing about Food, Exercise and Living Past 100

Chicago has just gone 307 consecutive days without a one inch snowfall. That is the longest such spell in 54 years. And, might I add, most welcome to me as a bicycle rider. Because of this snow drought, I have been able to ride many more times in these waning days of December than I would normally. As a result, I will post my biggest total mileage for a  year in my life in just three more days – over 8000 miles.

As you can see from the photos, the snow looked kind of pretty falling on the Riverwalk. However, look closely at the second photo taken on the next morning. Those patches of gray and white are ice patches and diabolical for a bicyclist.

A sheet of ice is very simple to navigate, you just get off the bike and walk it till you are past the ice. But…

View original post 245 more words

Leave a Reply

